Serving the web since 1996.

I.R.S. Records Biography - "Giants"

The Bolshoi, a London-based trio, answer to no single musical or stylistic style. In the past year, they have built up a strong live following and continue to play the U.K., where they are now in the enviable position of being able to headline and fill most of the capital city's clubs. Live Bolshoi shows hum with atmosphere and excitement. And, as the October, 1985, edition of Meldody Maker noted, lead singer Trevor Tanner is a charasmatic frontman who seems quite at ease manipulating a large audience: "Before this man had a following, he must have incited riots," wrote MM. Or Record Mirror the very same month: "Trevor Tanner, the pivot around which the Bolshoi revolve, demands that his audience care too. Music Week described the audience as "immediately caught up in their powerful performance... the singer/guitarist dramatically controlled the show."

The Bolshoi are, however, not simply a very entertaining live act. They've also demonstrated that their powerful and effective fusion of a rock'n'roll dance beat and guitar, plus catchy songs with memorable choruses, comes across equally well on vinyl. Their first single in the U.K., "Sob Story" b/w "Ports of Amsterdam" (the B-side being the band's standby set opener), came out in Spring '85 on Situation Two and was followed later in the year by "Happy Boy," a remarkably commercial 45 which gained several BBC Radio One plays out of the box.

Giants, the first EP by the Bolshoi, was released in the U.K. just ahead of its Spring '86 U.S. unveiling. of this 6-song collection, The Beat had these observations: "Strong on brooding melodies, driven along by forceful rhythms and crashing splinters of trebly guitar, all showing enough fire to crash through the dark undergrowth of the post-punk jungle . . . admirable stuff." Praise indeed, and as Melody Maker underlined, "The Bolshoi have vision and lyrical flair -- a refreshing alternative to some of the rancid pap that currently clogs up the charts." The lead track, "Happy Boy," was variously described as "an accessible introduction to (the Bolshoi's) subtle charms" (Record Mirror); "impressive and charismatic" (City Limits), "fabber than before . . . entirely confident" (Zig Zag) and Music Week confirmed "Happy Boy" as "an exciting number."

Giants contains six tracks: "Fly," "Sliding Seagulls," "Hail Mary," "Giants," "Happy Boy," and "By The River." Produced by the band with Lawrence Burridge, "Happy Boy" was remixed as a single by Simon Boswell and perfectly captures their reckless, headlong spirit, along with Trevor's disdain for lyrical authority and convention.

The Bolshoi recently signed an American contract with I.R.S., and plan their first visit to the States in May. Trevor Tanner doubtless has some special treats in mind for the U.S. as part of his plan for worldwide domination by the end of 1986. As Sounds espoused six months ago, "Mr. T is a star -- it's just that not a lot of people are aware of that fact -- yet."

I.R.S. 3/86

- Click the image on the left for a printable PDF version of the original press kit bio, or CLICK HERE for a .gif image.


- News
- Discography
- Photos
- Audio
- Video
- Lyrics
- Boards
- Bios
- Articles/Reviews
- Guestbook
- Links
- Store
- HOME -


NOTE: This site is best viewed at a 1024x768 resolution. Site designed and maintained by Greg Baerg ( | Full Insite.
© 2005.Band photos, artwork, etc. © its respective owners and not used for commercial purposes.